Hide Articles List

8 articles on this Page

[No title]


[No title]

[No title]

Family Notices



Detailed Lists, Results and Guides

COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTIONS. I Carmarthenshire I The nominations for the Carmarthenshire County Council were handed in on Thursday in last week, and in one or two districts exciting contests are promised. The majority of the opponents to the sitting members)have, however, retired, and the number of contested elections left for the polling to-day (Friday) is small. One of the hottest is expected to be in Division 6, at Llanelly, where Mr Thomas Phillips, Liberal, is opposed by Mr Frank G Vivian,, Labour. For Llanfihangel-ar-Arth, Mr T R Jones, who did not seek re-election, has been replaced by Mr T Barrett, the second candidate, Mr John Davies, having withdrawn. In Llangennech, Mr John Thomas, Velindre, also retired, leaving the seat to be fought by Mr J B Rees, draper, and Mr Morton Evans. The latter, however, withdrew. There is a contest for Pembrey South between Mr T F Wilkins and Mr J. G. Thomas. The retiring member, Mr David Evans, Burry Port, did not seek re-election. For Trelech, Mr J Phillips, Caerlleon, gave place to Mr David Bowen, Abernant. At Laugharne, Mr J D Morse is opposed by Mr Richard Evans, and at Llany- byther Mr John Rees has to contest the seat with Mr David Williams. A warm fight is expected at Kid- welly, where Mr A. Stephens is opposed by Mr W. Young. The following list will show the candidates who have been returned unopposed, and also where contests are to take place. An asterisk indicates sitting member :— Berwick Electoral Division—*Mr Owen Bonville, Bwlchyllyddiad, Llanelly. Mr David Harry with- drew Carmarthen—Eastern Lower, *Mr T E Brigstocke, 54 King-street; Eastern Upper, *Rev A F Mills, Penllwyn Park; Western Lower, *Mr James John, 18 Picton-terrace; Western Upper, *Professor D E Jones, 25 Picton-ten-ace Llanfihangel-Aberbythych-*The Right Hon. Earl of Cawdor, Stackpole Court Llanelly-Division 1 *Mr John Allen Williams, Allty- fran; Division 2, *Mr Joseph Mayberry, Penmount; Mr W Wilkins withdrew; Division 3, *Mr David Williams, Tyrfran Mr Wilkins withdrew; Division 4, *Rev J Thomas, Greenfield terrace; Division 5, *Mr D C Parry, Stepney-street; ,Division 6, *Mr Thomas Phillips, 11, Mina-street; Mr F G Viviafl (labour) ;ldivision 7, Mr Thomas Jones, Castle Field Division 8, Mr Joseph Williams Cenarth—*Mr D Davies, Angel House, Newcastle Emlyn Llandebie—*Mr D Davies, Cilrhedyn Mothvey—*Mr D Davies, Rhyblid Llanarthney-*Mr H Jones Davies, Glyneiddan Llangadock—*Mr W M Davies, Glansawdde Llansawel-*Sir J W Drummond, Bart., Edwinsford Rhydycymerai—*Mr B Evans, Brithdir Pembrey-North, *Rev J H Rees, Bury Port; South, Mr T F Wilkins, and Mr J G Thomas Westfa, and Glyn—*Mr Gwilym Evans, Westfa Felinfoel-Mr T Jenkim withdrew Llandilo-Urban, *Mr J W Gwynne-Hughes, Tregib; Rural, *Mr W. Jones, Waterloo Villa Llanegwad-*Colonel W Gwyne-Hughes, Glancothi. Llandovery Borough—*Mr W P Jeffreys, Cynghordy Llangendeirne-*Mr W Jenkins, Alltycadno Hengoed—*Mr John David, Glasfryn Llanstephan-*Mr John Johns, Parceithin Llannon—*Mr Morgan Jones, Rhydycerrig, Ponty- bcrem Conwil—*Mr Thomas Jones, Penronw Caio—*Mr T F Jones, Troedybryn, Pumpsaint Llanfihangel-ar-Arth-Mr T Barratt. Mr John Davies withdrew. Bettws—*Mr W N Jones, Tirydail Llangeler—*Colonel W P Lewes, Llysnewydd Abergwili—*Mr John Lloyd, Penybank Llangunnor—*Mr C. E. Morris, Carmarthen Laugharne—*Mr John D Morse, Tower, Llandawke, and Mr Richard Evans Trelech-Mr David Bowen, Nantyrolechfa, Abernant Quarter Bach—*Dr Howell Rees, Glangarnant Cilycwm—*Mr James Rees, Talgarth Llanybyther-*Mr John Rees, Dolgwm-issaf, and Mr David Williams Whitland—*Mr John Scourfield, Blaenwernddu Kidwelly—*Mr Alfred Stephens, Broomhill, and Mr W Young, Glanmorfa Llanboidy—*Mr David Thomas, Castelldrainog. Mr Benjamin John, farmer, and Mr D Davies, merchant, withdrew. Llangennech-Mr J. B. Rees, draper. Mr Martin Evans withdrew. Llanedy-* M r John LI Thomas St. Ishmael—*Mr J Lloyd Thomas, Pengay, Kidwelly St Clears-Dr R L Thomas, St Clears. As the new Council will have in their hands the election of a number of aldermen, it will be as well to here state the names of those whose term expires on the 16th March next:- Mr W 0 Brigstocke, Blaenpant (dead); Mr John Bevan, Dolfinog, Llansadwrn; Mr Joseph Joseph, Plasderw, Llangennech; Sir Lewis Morris, Penbryn, Carmarthen; Mr Daniel Stephens, The Arlais, Kid- welly Mr H J Thomas, Penrhos-uchaf, Golden Grove Mr Thomas Watkins, Tycerrig, Llandovery and Mr Henry Wilkins, New-road, Llanelly. I Pembrokeshire The election of members for this County Council took place on Wednesday. There Wt re 36 unopposed returns, leaving twelve seats to be contested. The following list shews the results announcedlwhen we go to press Tenby North—*Mr C W R Stokes (C), 173; Mr C F Egerton Allen (L), 145 Haverfordwest-St. Thomas's Ward, *Mr H E E Philipps (C), 217; Mr W Mackenzie (Ind), 35 St. Martin's and St. Mary—Mr W H George (C), 256; *Mr J Llewellin (L), 256. The Mayor gave his casting vote for Mr George Prendergast-Mr W T Davies (L), 154; *Mr M Samson (C), 137 The majority of the old members were returned un- opposed.