Skip to main content
Hide Articles List

7 articles on this Page


- #-_- .,-,_ . n._...._..._..._-._-_....._.-..4…



The Diary of a Small-holder.



CLYDACH PARISH COUNCIL. AND VOLUNTARY VIGILANCE FOOD COMMITTEE. At a meeting of the Clydach Parish Council held at tho Twynybedw Coun- cil School 011 Thursday evening (Coun- cillor Ben Davies presiding) much dis- satisfaction was expressed regarding the distribution of food at Clydach. The question caused a lengthy discus- sion, and eventually on the motion of Councillor Theophilus Morgan it m,as resolved to apply to the Pontardawe Council for its sanction to elect a re- presentative food vigilance committee of voluntary workers for the Rhvndwy- clydach Pari&h, such committee to co- operate with and assist the Pontar- dawe Food Control Committee in the task of selving the problem of equit- able distribution. 'SEED POTATOES. Mr. Morgans also drew attention to the hardship suffered '(y people through the action of the authorities in prohibiting the planting of non- immune varieties of seed potatoes. The Council fully realised the hardships entailed, but in view of the prohibi- tion regulation which had for its object the elimination of the disease, it was felt that no action could be taken on behalf (,)f the affected section of the community, and consequently the mat- ter was allowed to drop with a word of advice to the people to "Promptly dispose of their stocks of non-immune varieties." SCHOOL MANAGERS. Councillors Ben Davies lJontarùawe Higher Elementary), Evan Lloyd and Wm. Bowen (Pontardawe Group) were unanimousJy re-elected schools' mana- gers for the ensuing term. The re- elected councillors thanked the Council for the honour conferred upon them. NEW MEMBEit. Messrs. John Clement, L'ra, loe'll%- parc (proposed by Councillor Richard Thomas), Tom S. Dav, Twynybedw- mad (proposed by Councillor Thcophi- lus Morgan), and Geo. Davies. Aely- bryn (pro}x>oed by Coun. Liew. J. Davics) were nominated for election to fill the single casual vacancy on the Parish Council caused by the resigna- tion of Ce.r.r.r'-llor F. W. Lilley. On a division Mr. John Clement was de- clared elected.