Hide Articles List

17 articles on this Page




[No title]

"War Juttlngs






County Council Elections -

Detailed Lists, Results and Guides

County Council Elections SURPRISES IN CARMARTHENSHIRE. The Carmarthenshire County Council elections took place on Saturday, no less than 31 seats being contested in the county out of the 53, the nominees in the other 22 divi- sions being returned unopposed. There were many close contests, and not a few surprises. A notoWe feature of the eleotions in Car- marthenshire was the bold bid made by the ladies, four of whom were candidates. Miss Davies, Froodvale, won her oontest at Caio, thus succeeding the late Sir James Hills- Johns, V.C., and Miss Gwen Trubshaw claimed a seat at Llanelly. With Lady Howard, the retiring member, ^turned un- opposed at Llanelly, this makes three repre. sentatives of the women on. the Carmarthen- shire Council. It is interesting to note that Lord Dynevor won the seat at Llandilo, vacated by Mr. J. Towyn Jones, M.P. Many changes have been brought about, among the surprises being the defeat of the Rev. Fuller Milia at Carmarthen; Mr. Mer- vyn Peel, who, as representative of Llan- gadock for very many years, was one of the most faithful, active, and able administra- tors on the county council; and Mr. J. C. V. Pryse-Rice at Llandovery, which he has represented on the council for nine years with diligence and great credit. There will be many new faces in the new council. Eight of the old members did not seek re-election. There are seventeen alder, men, all of whom retire on Saturday, when the statutory meeting of the oountr oouncil will be held and the election of the alder- manic bench will be made. The following are the results of the elections:- CARMARTHEN EASTERN (UPPER). Percy James Williams (ex- Soldiers' candidate) 379 *Rev. A. Fuller Mills 341 Majority 34 ABERGWILI. *John Griffiths 321 William Williams 305 Majority 16 AMMANFORD. Rev. John Griffiths 969 Thomas Evans 43e M&|orit^ 637 Miss M. Davies, Froodvale 294 Isaac Williams, farmer 255 Majority 39 PEMBREY NORTH. William Rogers 520 E. T. Davies 368 Majority 152 HENGOED. *David John 392 Joseph Howell 338 Majority 64 KIDWELLY. Alfred Stephens 574 William Lewis Williams 277 Majority 297 LLANDILO URBAN. Lord Dynevor 440 John Stephens 186 Majority 264 LLANDOVERY. Harry Vaughan Watkins 363 *C. V. Pryse-Rice 191 Majority V2 LLANELLY.—DIVISION 3. J. R. Jones 111 T. P. Jones 228 Majority 83 DIVISION 4. *John Thomas 472 Tom Charles 390 Mrs. Brinley Jones 162 Majority 82 DIVISION 6. Miss Gwen Trubshaw 434 *D. C. Parry 189 Majority 245 DIVISION 6. T. Williams 423 •jos. Roberts 416 Majority 7 DIVISION 8. H. W. Bowen 429 D. W. Jones 248 Mrs. Alicia Phillips 49 Majority 181 LLANFIHANGEL-ABERBYTHICK. Rev. Thos. Thomas, Temple Bar 340 *William Harries, farmer, Drysllwynfawr 250 J. T. Stephens, Maesybont Farm 72 Majority 90 LLANFIHANGEL-AR-ARTH. -T.8. Jones, Pantglas 389 Rev. T. Lloyd Jones 314 Majority 75 LLANGADOCK. Walter Tudor Lewis 488 .Mervyn Lloyd Peel 248 Majority 240 LLANGELER. Henry Davies 670 E. T. Owen 567 Majority 3 LLANGENDEIRNE. *Rev. R. H. Jones 368 Thomas Jones 344 Majority 1M LLANGUNNOR. James Richards ea7 T. Howell Davies, solicitor 275 Majority 12 LLANSTEPHAN. •G. Barrett Evans 390 J. J. Bowen Iæ9 Majority 161 QUARTERBACH. -Griffith Williams 661 Goener Harris 463 Majority 106 ST. ISHMAEL. John Jones 304 *Evan Bowen 208 Robert B. Elliot 164 Majority 96 WESTFA AND GLYN. William Jones 383 David John Lloyd 214 J. Rees Humphreys 163 Majority 160 BERWICK. *D. Harry 689 Thomas Jenkins 272 Majority 317 WHITLAND. •William Thomas 602 Peter Howells 137 Majority 365 RHYDCYMERAU. D. E. Daves, Llanycrwys 234 R. L. Evans, Llanybyther 230 Majority 4 LLANNON. .William Greville 621 Rhys Morgan 607 Majority 14 LLANEDY. J. T. Parry-Jones 591 David Evans 367 John White 260 Majority 224 LLANGENNECH. *D. J. Jones 481 P. F. Owen 327 Majority 154 LLANDEBIE *David Davies 808 John Davies 601 Majority 207


- Cardiganshire