Hide Articles List

9 articles on this Page





Detailed Lists, Results and Guides

MERIONETH COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTIONS. On Thursday, the 10th January, the nominations of candidates for the forty-two seats on the County Council for Merioneth had been sent into.Mr J. Charles Hughes, the undersheriff, acting for Mr Charles Williams, the sheriff, and on Friday a Court was held to hear objections and receive withdrawals. Mr W. E. Bithell, deputy town clerk of Flint, assisted the Undersheriff in the conduct of the twenty elections which took place on Friday last in various parts of the county with the following results :— BARMOUTH URBAN DISTRICT (one member)- Lewis Lewis, gentleman, Hillside, Barmouth. (L.) 160 John Robert Davies, gentleman, Compton House, Barmouth. (C.) 109 Liberal majority 51 LLANABER DISTRICT (one member)- Charles Williams, esquire, Hengwm, Llan- aber. (C.) 50 John Jooes, farmer, Llwyndu, Barmouth. (L.) 28 Conservative majority 22 HARLECH DISTRICT (one member)- Richard Thomas Jones, surgeon, Penygarth Villa, Harlech. (L.) 152 John Owen, farmer, Brynartro, Llanfair. (C.) 141 Liberal majority 11 TRAWSFYNYDD EASTERN AND WESTERX COM- BINED DISTRICTS (two members)— John Humphreys, physician and surgeon, Fronwynion-street, Trawsfynydd. (L.) 162 Robert Hugh Pughe, farmer, Brynllefrith, Trawsfynydd. (I.) 109 David Tegid Jones, farmer, Y Goppa. (L.) 107 William Evans, draper, Meirion House, Trawsfynydii. (L.) 81 MAENTWROG DISTRICT (one member)— William Edward Oakeley, esquire, Plas, Tanybwlch. (C.) 134 Griffith Ceidiog Roberts, minister of the Gospel, Gwyndy, Maentwrog. (L.) 83 Conservative majority 49 PENRHYN AND TALSARNAU COMBINED (two members)— J. B. Jones, miller, Brynyfelin, (L.) 223 John Rowe, quarry manager, Glasfryn View, Pearhyn (L). 219 Edmund Morgan Roberts, farmer, Cefntrefor- isaf, Talsarnau, (C). 207 John Morgan, grocer, &c., Canton House, High-street. Blaenau Festiniog (L.) 72 LLANFOR DISTRICT (one member)- Richard John Price, esquire, Rhiwlas (C). 141 William Thomas Rowlands, farmer, Tanycoed, Llanfor (L). 64 I Conservative majority 77 DOLGELLEY COMBINED DISTRICT (two members)- Edward Jones, surgeon and doctor of medicine, Caerffynon, Dolgelley (L). 300 Morris Jones, manufacturer, Plasucha, Dol- gelley (L). 261 John Vaughan, esquire, Nannau, Llanfach- reth (C). 218 DOLGELLEY RURAL DISTRICT (one member)- Robert Pugh, gentleman and farmer, Helygog (L). III Richard Edward Lloyd Richards, esquire and bar student, Caerynwch (C). 95 Liberal majority 16 LLANFACHRETH DISTRICT (one member)- Robert Vaughan, esquire and farmer, Bryn- llinfawr, Trawsfynydd (C). 136 Edward Griffith, gentleman, Springfield, Dol- gelley (L), 91 Conservative majority 45 ABERCORRIS AND TALYLLYN (two members)- Morris Thomas, chemist, Bridge-street, Corris (L). 226 Wm. Caradog Jones. Independent minister, Brynawel, Corris (L). 192 Edward Williams, slate quarry manager, Frongoch (C). 169 MAWDDWY DISTRICT (one member)- John Jones, farmer, Llwynygrug, NIE.11 wyd (L). 141 Henry Owen, farmer, Ceiswyn (C). 105 Liberal majority 36 LLANUWCHLLYN DISTRICT (one member)- Michael Daniel Jones, Congregational minister, Bodiwan, near Bala (L). 1251 John Williams, farmer, Gwernhefin (C). 117 Liberal majority 8 ABERDOVEY DISTRICT (one member)- James Webster, gentleman, 17, Sea View- terrace, Aberdovey (C). 95 John Hughes Jones, timber merchant, 4, Bodfor-terrace (L). 89 Conservative majority 6 LLANEGRYN DISTRICT (one member)- William Robert Maurice Wynne, esquire, Peniarth, (C). 151 John Evans, farmer, Gwastad fawr, Llan- fihangel-y-Pennant (L). 103 Conservative majority 48 LLANSANTFFRAID, CORWEN, Southern and Northern combined districts (three members)- William Ffoulkes Jones, timber merchant, the Terrace, Corwen (L). 341 Robert David Roberts, wholesale grocer, Glandwr, Corwen (L). 332 Hugh Cernyw Williams, Baptist minister, London-road, Corwen (L). 277 David Robert Jonea, surgeon, the Terrace, Bridge-street, Corwen (C). 252 Horatio Edward Walker, surgeon, Plasyndref, Corwen (C). 162 CYNFAL AND TEIGL combined districts (two members)— William Davies, farmer, Caerblaidd, Festiniog (C). 159 John Hughes, farmer, Hafodfawrisaf, Maent- wrog (L). 105 George Henry Ellis, solicitor, Penymount, Festiniog (I). 95 Edward Henry Jonathan, draper, Paris House, Four Crosses (L). 89 CONGLYWAL DISTRICT (one member)- Robert Roberts, physician and surgeon, Isallt, Blaenau Festiniog (L). 163 Joseph Rhydwen Parry, Independent minister, Manod-road, Blaenau Festiniog (L). 129 MAENOFFEREN AND DIPHWYS COMBINED DISTRICT (two members)- John Parry Jones, banker, District Bank, Blaenau Festiniog (L). 276 Robert Owen Jones, solicitor, High-street, Blaenau Festiniog (L). 264 Morris Jones, flour dealer, Blaenbowydd House, Blaenau Festiniog (I). 173 LLANVROTHEN DISTRICT (one member)— John Jones, gentleman, Ynysfor, Llanfrothen (C). 142 William Hughes, farmer, Cwmcaeth, Nant- mor, Beddgelert (L). 74 Conservative majority 68 UNCONTESTED DIVISIONS. LLANDRILLO DISTRICT (one member).—Henry Davies, farmer, Tyfos (L). LLA.NDDERFKL DIVISION (one member).—Thomas Jones, farmer, Brynmelyn (L). LLWYNGWP.IL tone member).-Ellis Pughe Jones, farmer, Hendre, Lhvyngwril (L). BALA DISTRICT (ODE member).—Richard Jones, Esq., Plasyracre, Bala (L). LLANYCIL (one member).—Edward Peters, farmer, Tyaant, Rhyducha (L). PENNAL DISTRICT (one member).—James Meredith, farmer, Penrhyn Dovey, Pennal (L). Town. RURAL DISTRICT (one member). -Griffith Evans, minister of the gospel, Glandovey-terrace, Aberdovey (L). TOWYN URBAN DISTRICT (one member).—Henry Hadyn Jones, ironmonger, High-street, Towyn (L). GWYDDELWERN DISTRICT (one member).—Robert Edwards, draper and grocer, Bryn Shop (L). DYFFRYN DISTRICT (one member).—Samuel Pope, Q.C., Hafodybryu, Llanenddwyn (L). CWMORTHIN AND YSTRADAU (two members).- Alexander Milne Dunlop, quarry manager, Hafody- hryn (L). Wm. Parry Evans, draper, 27, Church-street, Blaenau Festiniog (L). RHIW AND BOWYDD DISTRICT (two members).—David Griffith Williama, shopkeeper, 32, Church-street, Blaenau Festiniog (L) David Griffith Jones, grocer, Glasgow House, Rhiw- brifdir (L). Thirteen county magistrates have been returned- seven Conservatives and six Liberals-including Mr W. R. M. Wynne, chairman of Quarter Sessions, Mr S. Pope, deputy chairman. The nett result is that 33 Liberals have been returned and 9 Conservatives.