Welsh Newspapers

Search 15 million Welsh newspaper articles

Hide Articles List

10 articles on this Page


[No title]



The Lord Bishop of Saint David's held a General Ordination on Sunday, the 8th instant, at the Parish Church, Abergwili, when the following gentlemen were admitted into holy orders:- DEACONS. E, F. Willis, B.A., of Balliol College, Oxford; D. M. Morris, of Jesus College, Oxford John Jones, Saint David's College, Lampeter; Joahua Davies, Saint David's College, Lampeter; David Jones, Literate. PRIESTS. Thomas Evans, Saint David's College, Lampeter; John E. C. Fownes, B.A., of Pembroke Collage, Oxford John Williams, Saint David's College, Lampeter; David Winter JMorris, Literate. His Lordship delivered a most powerful address from Siiii of Romans, first part of 14th verse, in the course of which he impressed on the mir.ds of the candidate the -dignity and responsibility of the ministry. The Rev E. F. Willis, B.A., was selected to read the Gospel. On the same day, the following were licensed to Curacies in the dioceseE. F. Willis, B.A., to the Assistant. Curacy of Tenby, in the county of Pembroke D. M. Morris, B.A., to the Curacy of Saint Peter's, Pontardawe, in the parish of Llanguiek, in the county of Glamorgan David Jones, to the Aseistant Curacy of Fishguard, in the county of Pembroke; John Jones, to the Assistant Curacy of Llandingad, with Llanfait-ar y- Bryn, and of Y stradffin, in the county of Carmarthen Joshua Davies, to the Assistant Curacy of Saint Dog- aiell's with Llantood and Monnington, in the county of Pembroke John Edward Curtis Fownes, B.A., to the Assistant Curacy of Walton West with Talbenny, in the ,-sauaty of Pembroke. REPORT OF THE BOUNDARY COMMISSION. The following particulars in reference to the bounda. ries of local boroughs are extracted from the recently issued report of the Boundary Commission:- H VVERFORDWEST. The Haverfordwest district of boroughs consists of the contributory districts of Haverfordwest, Fishguard, and Narberth. In neither of these districts, however, are any extensions advised. PEMBROKE. The Pembroke district of boroughs consists of the contributory boroughs of Pembroke, Milford, Tenby, and Wiston. Concerning Pembroke itself, the parlia mentary and municipal boroughs are at present identical. On the north of Milford Haven, and opposite to Pembroke Dock, is the district of Neyland or New Milford, which contains the Terminus of the Great Western Railway, and is the point of departure fcr the mail packets for the South of Ireland. It is probable that building will extend considerably in this district, and the commis- sioners recommend that it should be added to the borough. With reference to Milford, the commissioners do not recommend any extension of the present parliamentary limits, as there is sufficient space within them for any probable extension of the town. The same remark is made with regard to Tenby, and no extension is proposed either for this district or Wiston.