Hide Articles List

13 articles on this Page








fcPLftisDlJJ wFFEit FROM feiJiiNxiM.


Detailed Lists, Results and Guides

THE COUNTY OOUNCI1 ELECTIONS CARDIGANSHIRE. Polling took place in Cardiganshire on Satur- day and but little change was effected in the constitution of the Council from a. political point of view. Although each party lost a few seats, the balance turned in favour of the Radicals, as was the ense throughout the whole of Wales. The results were declared as follows LLANGOEDMOR AND LLECHRYD. tD. (R) .140 W. Jones (R) 70 Majority 70âNo change. ABERPORTH. t r. Watkins (R) 84 J. Hughes (R) 60 Majority 24-No chance. BLAENPORTH. T. Evans (R) 181 E. Williams (R) 85 Majority 96-No change. ABERAYRON. Lima Jones (R) 168 D. Jones (R) 100 Majority 68-No change. FELINFACH. tWo T. Davies (R) 135 John Jones (R) 98 D..Tones (U) 75-No change. LLANDDEW1BREFI. R. S. Rowland (LT) 136 D. Davies (R) 115 W. Jones 0 Majority 21-U. gain. NANTCWNLLE. Dr Evans (R) 161) Rev D. Edwards (U) 71 Majority 9SâNo change. BOW STREET. A. Howell (R) 119 ffletiry Boiisall (U) 72 Majority 47âR. gain. LAMPETER Rev LI. J. Bebb (U) .210 Rev R. C. Jones (R) 182 Majority 28âNo change. LLANFAIR CLYDOGAU. D. S. Davies (R) 176 I-W Rees (U) 93 Majority 83-R. gain. LLANRHYSTYD. E. T. Evans (R) 139 fD. Morgan James (U). 129 Majority 10âR. gain. TALIESIN. Dr James (U) 134 David Williams (R) 79 Majority 55-U. gain. LLANLLWCHAIARN. Evan Lewis (R) 110 Rev D. Evans (R) 45 Majority 75âNo change. Those marked (t) were old members. The re- sults show that forty Radicals have been re- tured and seven Unionists, or a net gain of one seat. On the old Council they had a majority of thirty-six (including aldermen). MACHYNLLETH UNION. In the Darowen district there were t.vo polling stations. The result was made known as fol- lows :â William Edwards, Gwastadgoed (L) 118 Rev Robert Pryce (C) 54 Majority. 64 In the Isygarreg district the result was Mr Evan Roberts, Doldyfi (L) 67 Mr F. M. Campbell (C), old member 42 Majority 25 Mr John Rowlands was deputy returning officer for Darowen anri Isygarresr districts. The voting for the Llanbrynmair division took place at the National School. Out of a possible 207 voters 199 polled. Mr David Evans was deputy returning officer. The result was made known as follows Mr Daniel Howell (L) 153 Mr Edward Jones (C) 46 107 There was no contest in the Cemmes division, Mr M. E. Francis having been returned un- opposed.. lnl the evening a torchlight procession was formed at Machynlleth, the exciting crowd car- rying Messrs Richard Rees, William Edwards, and Evan Roberts (Liberals) triumphantly through the streets. Speeches were delivered by the successful candidates from the Town Hall balcony, and Mr Richard Rees, who has been returned unopposed, recited the following im- promptu verse:â Hwre i Isygarreg Am sefyll fel y dur, A hithau, Uwchygarreg, Fe brofodd hithau'n bur Mae'r ddwy yn un yn galw Am Roberts wrth y Jly w, Mae Campbell wedi marw A'r rifle range yn fyw.



-----ontl aitb district ---..------.----------...--------------..-..------..---------"----".......---.....-.....-------....-....---.----